Tables turned

So things have been a bit quiet lately as I am waiting for feedback from all my editors. But in the past few weeks I have had the chance to be an editor myself.

In my regular life I work as a tutor, teaching kids maths and English. Before the holidays I gave a few of my students a writing challenge and now they are returning their stories to me. It is an interesting experience to be on the other side. As a writer I understand that your story is a very personal thing and it can be hard, or even heart breaking when people don’t instantly love it. But having gone through the editing process I know how important critical feedback can be. I hope I was able to encourage them to keep writing and gave them some useful advice to be a better writer.

The end result is, I now have a greater appreciation for the work my editors do.

creative-writing-slider-2

Leave a Reply

