Gearing up to start the 3rd draft.

I have received one of the edited copies from my group of editors and soon the others will be arriving. My hope for this edit is that a lot less major re-writes will be needed. A few continuity issues and maybe some parts that have to be explained more, or better, but overall it will hopefully be getting closer to a story I can feel confident to publish.

I haven’t had a chance to look over the edit in detail and I probably won’t until I have all the copies together but the general feedback is positive. This editor was happy with the new scenes and characters I added and overall thinks it is a great improvement from the first draft (yay). Her main complaint had to do with the lead up to the conclusion, but I was expecting it. She wasn’t a fan of this part the first time around. I did try to fix and expand it to make it work, though it seems it still fell short.

After talking it through with her we came up with a plan to change and re-write this part and I have to say, I like the new direction. It feels less contrived and forced and draws in another element of the story rather neatly.

I’ll admit, I’m getthing excited to begin this next stage.

writing

Leave a Reply

