From the Beginning

It has been a few years since I started Coffee, Cats and An Act of Murder. At the time I had a vague idea of where I was going and just started writing and hoped for the best. But since that first draft it has been a process of refining a world that I’ve come to know quite well.

So when I sat down to start writing The House of Broken I felt like I was just rambling on with no idea what I was doing and no sense of where I was trying to go. It has been so long since I have started a story I forgot how weird it can be.

I start with a concept and some characters but we have only just become acquainted, we barely known each other. And yes I have a bit of a storyboard planned out, but I find too much detail stifling.

Also it doesn’t help when life gets in the way and I end up ignoring it for a few months. At this point I think I would be best to start again. I had only written less than 1000 words so I am not losing that much.

 

Typewriter-Chapter-One

Leave a Reply

